Quick Homemade Mayo

My first attempt at making my own mayonnaise left me feeling a little disillusioned. I’d just bought a beautiful artisan stand mixer and my hopes were high. I warmed the mixing bowl and slowly added the oil as the instructions informed me but alas my mayonnaise dream was crushed (slight eggsaggeration – pardon the pun! – sorry, bad joke) 😉 Anyway, somehow the mixture didn’t come together and I was left with a runny mess of oil and egg. Perhaps the egg wasn’t at the correct temperature. This lead to me to do some research and I found a fabulous substitute to prevent any further disappointments.

You will need:

Whiz

Picture courtesy of Breville

1 egg (at room temperature – very important)

1 tablespoon of lemon juice or 2 teaspoons of vinegar

a pinch of salt

2 teaspoons of Dijon mustard

200mls of oil (canola or light extra virgin olive oil)

Place all ingredients in the jug (like the one pictured above). Lower the stick mix into the jug until it hits the bottom. Keep it there and mix on high. Watch the oil slowly drip into the egg and other ingredients. The action of the blender and the nature of the oil which sits on the top of the ingredients makes it all work nicely. Soon you will have a thick and delicious mayonnaise. Once most of the mixture is combined, lift the stick mix slightly and blend in the remaining oil on low speed.

This recipe makes about a cup of mayonnaise. Perfect for egg sandwiches, yum!

Enjoy! Let me know if you have any delicious ways to spice up this recipe or other uses for mayo such as coleslaw, mmmm 🙂

Thanks to The Last Appetite for taking the mystery out of making my own mayo.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment