How Perth Teas are Making Me “Curiouser and Curiouser!” – Lewis Carroll Alice in Wonderland

Compressed Cupcake tea party

Cuppa’s are like a remote control for time, they make the world stop whizzing by just long enough to take a moment and reflect. As a writer, I need lots of time for reflection and introspection, this is my hub where ideas are made! Sometimes I think, I just want to sip a hot cuppa and stare at the wall. Which is shortly followed by me shrinking to the size of a fairy and tumbling through a dark tunnel, landing smack bang in the middle of a mad hatters tea party! I know what you’re all thinking… OMG what’s in her tea? (and where can I get me a cup of that?) Haha!

I recently discovered locally made tea designer, Teassential. Bena’s tea is amazing! Everything from the dreamy packaging, the pyramid infusers which give the magical leaves space to stretch out and yawn, to the cute, yet wise names like ‘claritea’, whisper softly, relaaax. Each flavour has it’s own ‘personali-tea’ to suit your preference. Claritea can be served with milk, black, or add just a little honey. Then there’s my personal favourite Celebritea, which has a pretty colour to admire as you sip notes of raspberry and hibiscus.

Photography by Emma Pointon
Photography by Emma Pointon
Tea cups are fast becoming my symbol for balance these days.

Photography by Emma Pointon
Photography by Emma Pointon
I’m partial to a chai tea as well and have been taste testing Perth creative, Amanda’s Mandala Chai, locally made and blended chai latte drink. This comforting blend of spices, including cinnamon, cardamom and ginger is made with coconut milk, coconut sugar, cacao and has many health benefits. As a point of difference, Mandala Chai has all the flavours of chai, without tea. “To enjoy Mandala Chai, all you need is a cup, a spoon and some hot water!” This style of chai is great for anyone suffering from lactose intolerance. I’m fortunate that I don’t have an issue with cow’s milk, so a cup of moo milk into a saucepan with 3 heaped tea spoons of chai it is! When the time comes to pouring the warm, fragrantly spiced liquid into my favourite tea cup, this combo goes down quite nicely!

Perth is alive with ‘creativi-tea’ at the moment! I’m loving it! Have yo’ self a cuppa today, take a moment to tap into your imagination and enjoy the ride!

What’s your favourite tea? Have you discovered any hidden gems in Perth lately? Where was your latest high tea experience?

“Chin chin!”

Leave a Reply

