Capturing Content: Why I Love New York the Home of Pilates

"Shopping and eating in SoHo, worship at the helm of the Pilates Mecca and floating home on a cloud to her love, who was very grateful that his Pilates aficionado didn’t get lost in the big ol’ City"
“Shopping and eating in SoHo, worship at the helm of the Pilates Mecca and floating home on a cloud to her love, who was very grateful that his Pilates aficionado didn’t get lost in the big ol’ City”

“With great power comes great responsibility, this is my gift, my curse – who am I? I’m…” A writer! Not unlike Spiderman, I scale the buildings of New York (in my mind) for a heightened perspective of the Big City. Using my X-ray vision (interview skills), I sense a story unfolding. I take to my laptop and pour myself into a feature for the Pilates version of the Daily Bugle (the fictional New York City tabloid Newspaper).

The power that comes with writing someone’s story is immense, partly because taking a person’s treasured experience into my hands and bringing it back to life, is kind of like how ‘Wonka vision’ turned an ordinary sized boy into pixels and put him into the TV in the movie, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Then double that analogy, because I also become a pixelated version of myself, going along for the ride, in my very own version of Quantum Leap (circa 1990’s TV series).

I’m lucky to have travelled to New York a couple of times in my early twenties, so writing a feature on this amazing city brought polaroid images flooding back to my mind. A photo collage of fantastic travel memories! Traveling to Summer Camp in the yellow ‘school bus’, the first of many! In the ‘noughties’ (2002, oh-so long ago! 😉) we carried film canisters, so our pics weren’t quite so instant. Digital cameras were quite new at the time, and smart phones? Possibly still a schematic floating around Steve Jobs head! Despite the delay in photographic gadgetry, my imagination is brimming with wonderful places to visit next time and by then, who knows what technology I’ll be taking along to capture the sights and sounds of the home of Broadway (jazz hands!)… and Pilates (scoop those abs y’all!).

So, my latest writing efforts… 👉 Big Lights Will Inspire You 🌃🚖🗽🇺🇸🍎

“Let’s go to the movies, lets go see the stars!” – Annie (The Movie Musical)

Leave a Reply

