Learn How to Revive the Retro Salmon Toastie for Your 80’s Soirée

Retro Revival

Babies of the 80’s are considered pretty retro these days. The other day I compared using Spotify for group fitness classes to the good ol’ tape deck set up from my childhood jazz and tap classes. My story was met with some blank looks, then a question, “how old exactly are you?”

The old tape deck evokes warm memories for me, (nothing like whiling away a weekend hauled up in a make shift cubby house, constructed from blankets and chairs, listening to the B52’s 1989 hit single, “Roam”. Sing it with me, you know you wanna!)… Accompanying memories such as this, I’m struck by the fondness I hold of certain foods I ate in my childhood. Most of it revolves around celebration, which I find interesting, based on my research on intuitive eating and altering our approach to food. I used to love it when Mum and Dad threw a dinner party, the parents in the dining room, the kids in the family room… The Wizard of Oz playing on our VCR (again!), much to the disappointment of the kid friends visiting. The consolation was Mum’s Frog in a Pond dessert, a Freddo frog wedged in green jelly, half filling a clear plastic cup, with some hundreds and thousands sprinkled around for good measure and a couple of Allens mint leaves for the lily pads. Then there were the family gatherings, sat around my Auntie’s games room, assortments of food scattered over the pool table, turned makeshift banquet.

Earlier on in the establishment of garnishfood, I shared a post on retro canapés. I had a whole lot of fun creating this old school finger food, which reminded me of family gatherings and parties of old, and much to my surprise, helped others to remember these times in their own lives.

Testimonial “So many of my friends around the world commented on the warm memories evoked by photos I posted of cocktail onions creations. They will love your blog and this post about so many other great treats – including my favourite devils on horseback!”

In this rockin’ retro post, I promised y’all the recipe for Salmon Toasties, so here it is:

IMG_1008
Original Recipe: Wholemeal Salmon and Cheese Fingers, one of “6 healthy snacks kids will love”. Brought you by The Australian Women’s Weekly, April 1988.

Note: This recipe is unsuitable to freeze or microwave

Ingredients

  • 8 slices of wholemeal or multigrain bread
  • 225g can red salmon, drained
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 red pepper (capsicum), finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon low-oil mayonnaise (click here for garnishfood’s mayo recipe)
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1 cup grated tasty cheese

Method

Toast bread until golden brown on both sides. Combine salmon, onion, capsicum, mayonnaise and lemon juice in a bowl; mix well. Spread salmon mixture evenly over toast, sprinkle with cheese and place under hot grill until cheese is melted. Cut into fingers (or squares). Makes 8

To see what all the fuss is about, click here for garnishfood’s highly anticipated (mostly by me) Retro Canapé Weekend Special!

bike and balloons

Leave a Reply

