Did someone say dessert?!!

20140721-190600.jpg

I took a hint from my body’s sugar cravings this winter and cooked up this beautiful pie (if I do say so myself). The pie that would end all the nibbles of chocolate I’ve been having lately. (“nibbles” haha! Big mice in this house!)

It was my first time making meringue too so I’m pretty stoked with the result! I must make a mention of my Grandma here as according to our family, she was the meringue Queen in her day 🙂 Her 2 year Anniversary came and went so quickly that I didn’t get the chance to send my Mum a note with my thoughts but I made up for this by taking over a big slice of pie for Mum and Dad to try.

I picked up the recipe in the Australian issue of recipes+ magazine, the title (and picture) had me stopped in my tracks “Easy lemon Meringue Pie”, (and only 8 ingredients, now THAT I can deal with! And most of them were already in my cupboard, win!)

    The recipe

100g un-iced digestive biscuits, broken into pieces
40g butter, melted
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3 eggs, separated
1/3 cup castor sugar
395g can sweetened condensed milk
1 lemon, zest finely grated, juiced (you’ll need 1/4 cup)
1 tablespoon cornflour, sifted

1. Preheat oven to 180/160 degrees fan forced. Grease a 1.25L (5 cup) round ovenproof dish. Process biscuits in a food processor to make fine crumbs. Add butter and cinnamon; process until combined. Using the back of a spoon, press biscuit mixture evenly over base (and sides) of prepared dish.

2. Using an electric mixer, beat egg whites in a clean dry bowl until soft peaks form. Gradually add the sugar, beating well after each addition, until sugar dissolves and mixture is thick, glossy and firm peaks form.

3. Combine egg yolks, condensed milk, lemon zest, juice and cornflour in a bowl. Beat with a fork to remove any lumps. Pour over prepared biscuit base. Spoon meringue over the top and bake for 20 minutes (or until meringue has browned and is firm to touch). Stand for 10 minutes before serving.

It’s a little crumbly on the first night but after being stored in the fridge it’s well set. Maybe make ahead of time if you’re making it for a dinner party.

This was a reader recipe, on ya Victoria! Thanks for sharing this yummy pie with Australia.

Enjoy everyone! Oh and if you’re feeling adventurous, this would taste fab with passion fruit stirred through the lemon centre. Yummo!

Leave a Reply

