Healthy Snacks: Avocado & Tuna Sushi Sandwiches and Fresh Juice

Image

For those that follow garnishfood on twitter and those that just tuned in, this is the healthy snack I prepared today in my ‘what will it be? challenge’. I have to thank taste.com.au for inspiring me to make these tasty little morsels. So simple, yet so delightful. When I ate these I was reminded of my childhood, hopefully I’ve sparked this as an idea for any Mum’s out there suffering from ‘lunchbox block’. I only advise not to overfill the bread so that the sushi doesn’t unroll.

Image

You may be wondering what I used the rest of the ingredients for…

Image

Carrot, apple and celery juice with a hint of ginger, garnished with celery (which doubled as a swanky swizzle stick for stirring the juice when it settled).

As for the bananas and mandarins, nothing too exciting to report on those. I’m just planning to eat them whole as my contribution towards the raw food movement. (That’s as far as I’ve got with going raw, there will be more on that soon).

The Taste.com.au Avocado & Tuna Sushi Sandwiches recipe for those who were wondering is:

4 slices wholemeal bread, crusts removed

2 tablespoons spreadable cream cheese

95g can tuna in spring water, drained

1/2 medium avocado, peeled, thinly sliced

1/2 medium carrot, peeled, grated

Place bread slices on a chopping board. Using a rolling pin, flatten bread. Spread 1 side of each slice with cream cheese. Arrange tuna, avocado and carrot in rows next to each other on bread, leaving a 1cm border along 1 edge.

Roll up bread from opposite edge to enclose filling. Cut each roll into 3 rounds. Serve.

http://www.taste.com.au

Do you have any ideas for alternate fillings?

What’s your favourite healthy snack?

Do you have any raw food recipes you’d like to share?

Leave a Reply

